“thinklings” are musings, observations, opinions or questions on books, culture, family, faith and life with some quirky things thrown in for good measure.

Just finished reading Leif Enger’s new book, So Brave, Young, and Handsome. Actually, the book won’t even be published until May, 2008. One of the advantages of being a bookseller, and there are many, is having access to books before they are born. Another advantage is that we often get to meet authors, as I met Leif last week in Louisville. I attended the American Booksellers Association Winter Institute (and believe me, it was WINTER in Louisville) where I was delighted to find that my favorite author finally had produced his second novel and he was in attendance, signing his book. I was delighted to meet him and report that our store had sold hundreds of his first book, Peace Like a River. That book, one of my most recommended for years, is referred to in the store as a “bun burner”. Lest you think it is somehow racy, let me assure you that it only means that one customer loved it so much that she let the buns burn! Leif’s new book reminds me of Huckleberry Finn, Oh, Brother Where Art Thou and The Fugitive all wonderfully rolled up together. I can’t think of anyone who would not enjoy this one.

Published in: on February 3, 2008 at 4:34 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://justsomethinklings.wordpress.com/2008/02/03/108/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

