Poetry

I am alone in the house this Saturday morning. I’ve spent the time writing poetry. This isn’t something I usually do, but I had some words and phrases bumping around inside me and I just had to let them ooze out through my fingers. I’m not ready to share any of them here on my Blog, yet. I’m feeling a bit insecure about them, but maybe. Someday.

April is Poetry Month. I’m going to look for a new poetry book that I can savor this spring. Maybe something by Emily Dickinson. Here is one of her poems that I like.

If I can stop one Heart from breaking

by Emily Dickinson
If I can stop one Heart from breaking

I shall not live in vain.

If I can ease one Life the Aching

Or cool one Pain

Or help one fainting Robin Unto his Nest againI shall not live in Vain.

I like all kinds of poetry, serious and humorous. Here is another one I like:

The Frog by Anonymous

What a wonderful bird the frog are –
When he sit, he stand almost;
When he hop, he fly almost.
He ain’t got no sense hardly;
He ain’t got no tail hardly either.
When he sit, he sit on what he ain’t got – almost.

Published in: on February 23, 2008 at 9:14 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://justsomethinklings.wordpress.com/2008/02/23/poetry/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

