Family and Quotes

It was a family weekend with our sweet granddaughter spending the weekend, my sweet mother-in-law’s birthday and my sweet son-in-law-to-be’s birthday. Yes, you read that right, they are ALL sweet! On Friday night, Mr Beaver and I even found some time to drive to a nearby town for a quiet dinner and conversation . We both speak Beaver fluently. We chewed on steak and greens.

I saw this quote today and it made me smile.

I know a lot about cars. I can look at a car’s headlights and tell you exactly which way it’s coming. – Mitch Hedberg

Speaking of family and quotes, isn’t it interesting that every family has it’s favorite, personal quotes, borne out of laughter, great movie lines or some kind of humiliation. Sometimes they come from the mouths of babes, but even those often contain a certain “rightness” in their “wrongness”. Here are a few of our family favorites:

When our five year old left-handed daughter’s left hand became tired as she was practicing her penmanship, she said “May I turn my desk around, because”, she said, holding up her right hand, “then THIS will be my left hand!”.

Did you say “lurk”?

Mary mashed them. (ok, movie buffs, which movie is that from?)

One very little daughter to another, I said “N – O, NO” – read my nose!

OK, enough. These could become like home movies that have overstayed their visit. Please feel free to respond and share a few of your family favorites. It’s only fair.

Published in: on March 4, 2008 at 1:18 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://justsomethinklings.wordpress.com/2008/03/04/family-and-quotes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sue,Love your new blog! I just started my own to, on random events in my life. feel free to check it out!http://www.musingsofmatter.blogspot.comFavorite quote (great philosophy): If you’re robbing a bank and your pants fall down, I think it’s okay to laugh, and let your hostages laugh too, because come on – life is funny. Jack Handy ~ SNL~Chelsie

  2. Mine’s not exactly a quote as much as an anecdote that makes me smile to remember, and it also gives me the chance to tell you that it happened in Inklings!When my son Joey (who’s now 12) was about three, we walked into Inklings (when it was in its original location; we moved away before you moved to Summitview) and he saw the magazines. He tugged at my shirt urgently and said, in a loud stage whisper that was heavy with reverence, “Mommy, LOOK! They have THE NEW YORKER!!”He was just excited because he recognized it as a prop from home but it made me laugh because he sounded like such a little snob. I still tease him.I was homesick today and looked up your store’s website and found the link to your blog. I’ll add you to my feed reader and definitely will be back.


Leave a Reply

