Easter Eve


I’ve been puttering in the kitchen all day. I thought a lot about my Mom as I baked, made deviled eggs and scalloped potatoes. Her specialty was Lemon Meringue Pie – the best I’ve every had. I always miss her most at Easter time though she has been gone for over ten years. She loved the triumphant hymns like “Christ the Lord is Risen Today” and “Up From the Grave He Arose”. She always helped us color the eggs and made sure that I had a new dress and shoes for Easter. I hope I’m a little bit like my Mom. I want tomorrow to be very special for my family. The extra leaf is in the table, there are flowers in the vases and the ham is ready to pop in the oven. Now, I’m the Mom and Grandma who makes sure that our time together tomorrow is just right. Sophie, our granddaughter is coming tomorrow. I want to make extra sure that her memory of this Easter, complete with an egg hunt, is a wonderful one.

Tomb, thou shalt not hold Him longer; Death is strong, but Life is stronger;
Stronger than the dark, the light; Stronger than the wrong, the right;
Faith and Hope triumphant say
Christ will rise on Easter Day. – Phillips Brooks

Published in: on March 23, 2008 at 5:46 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://justsomethinklings.wordpress.com/2008/03/23/easter-eve/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

