September Days

Greetings. September mornings are wonderful, aren’t they? The sunlight is different, the mornings are cool, the flowers are getting ready for their last hurrah. I really like September. I loved school and I still get that excited, anticipatory feeling and near compulsion to run and buy pencils, 3-ring binders, new crayons (remember how they smell?) and new shoes. I took this picture last week in Alaska. We went up to attend the wedding of one of our special nephews. During rehearsal for the wedding that took place in the woods, I was fascinated by these little gems. Aren’t they neat?
I would like to have many more of what my brother-in-law, Harry, calls “Annie Dillard Moments” this fall. It is so easy to miss the great show that creation puts on as the seasons change. I plan to keep my eyes open for some more great autumn moments as the geese get ready to fly and the leaves get ready to fall.
Published in: on September 8, 2008 at 4:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://justsomethinklings.wordpress.com/2008/09/08/september-days/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

