Curious Case of Benjamin Button

My Stars. Hey, that is a nice title for my own movie review system with 1 being poor and 5 being fantastic. Anyway, I say it again. My Stars! Rex Reed says, “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is a monumental achievement—not only one of the best films of the year, but one of the greatest films ever made.” Come on! What is the driving force here? We went to see the movie last night. It was good, but certainly not the best movie I’ve ever seen – not even a runner up. Brad Pitt is usually pretty easy on the eyes, but not always so in this movie. I will admit that he did a great job in this film as did Cate Blanchett, but the chemistry wasn’t perfect. I did love Taraji P. Henson who played the part of Pitt’s “mother” loving him without reservation from the first time she unwrapped the bundle on the steps that was Benjamin and looked into his creepy little face. It is interesting to contemplate what life would be like if it was not always linear, but instead we crossed each other both growing older and younger. The changes in relationships, the sadness that would permeate life, the confusion it would cause would be very painful. I did like the fact the movie was life affirming both for the young and the old, but I really wasn’t that impressed. I have not read the book that the movie is based on, but my friend Mimi felt that the movie is based also on a similar book, The Confessions of Max Tivoli. Both books are about a man who ages backwards, but according to many, there are more similarities to Max Tivoli than Fitzgerald’s book. I know many will undoubtedly disagree with me, but I’m giving this one a 3. My stars!
Published in: on January 25, 2009 at 4:06 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://justsomethinklings.wordpress.com/2009/01/25/curious-case-of-benjamin-button/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

