Julia Child Themed Book Club Dinner

First, the evidence:

Well, if you haven’t read the book Julie and Julia yet, my personal opinion is to skip the book (I can’t believe I’m saying this) and go straight to the movie! I can’t remember ever saying this before – to ignore a BOOK and watch the movie! Yikes. Scandalous! I’m scaring myself, but the book was not my cup of tea. The movie, however, was delightful! It just made me want to, to, to, chop onions!

My book club decided to hold a potluck Julia Child dinner. Our hostess made the signature entree, Boeuf à la Bourguignonne (Beef Stew in Red Wine, with Bacon, Onions and Mushrooms). Served over rice, it was truly, as Julia might say, “Yum”. I made Potato Leek Soup – my first experience with leeks. Served with some fresh chives chopped on top, it was a great lead-in to the meal. Others made such things as Chocolate Almond Cake, Chocolate Mousse, a beet and orange salad, an apple custard side dish, and a corn salad. What fun it was to pretend we are all sophisticated chefs! And now (a little drum roll, please) I present my first video blog entry. Turn up your sound and wait for it to buffer:

Here are my dear friends, enjoying great food and company one September evening in 2009. And, just to redeem myself, I will recommend reading Julia’s cookbook, Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Volumes 1 and 2 as well as My Life in France.

Have you ever had a book discussion which included food from the era or areas mentioned in the book? Please leave your comments below. I’d also love to hear your ideas of food and book pairings that could be fun. Thanks for reading. I recently learned there is a term for people like you who read blogs. You are called Bleaders. 🙂

Published in: on September 12, 2009 at 7:23 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://justsomethinklings.wordpress.com/2009/09/12/julia-child-themed-book-club-dinner/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

