October, Taxes and the Fair

I’m spending a few extra hours at home this morning. I wish it was to read, or bake or work outside. Instead, I’m finishing my taxes. Taxes? Yes, taxes. Our third extension. My own fault. In between, I’ve taken a few shots of my surroundings, though, written for the store newsletter, walked 50 minutes on the treadmill, ate some cantaloupe and chatted with Piper. Yes, I procrastinated even more! But now, I am finished. Tada. Off to the accountant, perhaps in disguise so he doesn’t loathe me next year.

I’ve included this shot from one of my favorite places, the Central Washington State Fair. The older I get, the more I marvel at the speed with which the calendar pages fly – how can it be fair time again? I love the nostalgic Americana, the heritage apples, the Grange exhibits, the 4H entries and the CEF Storybarn. How many more years will we have the Fair? Will there always be an agricultural presence in our valley to showcase it’s bounty? I’d like to hear what my readers think about whether or not the Fair still serves a purpose other than to bring amusement rides and big name entertainers to town. Is there still a legitimate purpose for having a Fair?

Published in: on October 4, 2009 at 5:37 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://justsomethinklings.wordpress.com/2009/10/04/october-taxes-and-the-fair/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I haven’t been to a fair in years and years–but our Sacramento friends loved the fair this summer. Attendance was down–school had already started and the faltering economy may have been to blame. But those who went loved it!

  2. We love the CWSF ! Years of traditions both exhibiting our crafts and food preservation,showing a horse in 4H, and attending together are woven into our seasonal delight of this time. It is a wonderful event in our family’s history. Hoping it will always be there for our valley’s showcasing of farm products and people!


Leave a Reply

