And Mary kept all these things and pondered them in her heart

Two snippets from Scripture are my Advent focus this year, not because I read a list and chose them or was told to meditate upon them, but because they keep coming back to my mind and heart. The first one is from Luke 2:18 and 19, “And all who heard it wondered at the things which were told them by the shepherds. But Mary treasured up all these things, pondering them in her heart.” Well, she certainly had a lot to ponder.

During these days when the whole world is changed for a few weeks, I am pondering the significance of the baby born in Bethlehem. He still has such influence that every Christmas candle declares Him. Christmas trees, tinsel, even Christmas sales and Santa would not be seen were it not for the tremendous love for and influence of this God/man. His presence is unmistakable upon lives and cultures, airline schedules and days off, school programs and acts of charity, the Salvation Army bell-ringers and the Christmas cards in the mail. Perhaps pondering is the most fitting response to the tremendous wave of Love that sweeps over our world and fills the airwaves with carols, Hallmark specials, family gatherings and candlelight services.

I thought I’d share with you some of my favorite quotations that cause me to ponder the Christ of Christmas. Hope you enjoy them.

Blessed is the season which engages the whole world in a conspiracy of love. – Hamilton Wright Mabi


Love came down at Christmas;
love all lovely, love divine.
Love was born at Christmas
Stars and angels gave the sign. – Christina Rossetti

I heard the bells on Christmas Day
Their old familiar carols play
And wild and sweet the words repeat
Of Peace on earth, goodwill to men. – Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Christmas Gift Suggestions
To your enemy, forgiveness
To an opponent, tolerance
To a friend, your heart
To a customer, service
To all, charity
To every child, a good example
To yourself, respect Oren Arnold

Christmas, my child, is love in action. – Dale Evans

What can I give Him,
Poor as I am?
If I were a shepherd
I would bring a lamb.
If I were a Wise Man
I would do my part.
Yet what can I give Him?
I give Him my heart.
–Christina Rossetti

The rooms were very still while the pages were softly turned and the winter sunshine crept in to touch the bright heads and serious faces with a Christmas greeting. – Louisa May Alcott

I am not alone at all, I thought. I was never alone at all. And that, of course, is the message of Christmas. We are never alone. Not when the night is darkest, the wind coldest, the world seemingly most indifferent. For this is still the time God chooses.
–Taylor Caldwell

I mentioned two Scriptures that are my focus this year. The other one is from Isaiah 9:2 “The people who walk in darkness will see a great light; those who live in a dark land, the light will shine on them.”

May that Light shine on you this season. Please let me know what you like to do to prepare your heart for Christmas.

Published in: on December 9, 2009 at 10:05 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://justsomethinklings.wordpress.com/2009/12/09/and-mary-kept-all-these-things-and-pondered-them-in-her-heart/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Absolutely beautiful. Thanks for sharing and for giving me something to ponder.

  2. I googled “and she kept these things in her heart…” and found your blog. Your writing has the flow of a lovely river and some kind of familiarity to me about it. (“Princess Bride is one of my favorite movies too…I read your profile) – “Katy”

  3. Thanks so much Kyla and Katy – I appreciate your kind words. Merry Christmas.


Leave a Reply

