One Flu Over the Cuckoo’s Nest


Yes, I have the flu. I haven’t been sick with a cold or flu in years. I never get a flu shot, but maybe I should have this time. It all started with losing my voice, an experience I find exhausting. Jim couldn’t hear me and I certainly could not make myself understood over the phone. I left work on Thursday night to head for a Love, INC comedy night fundraiser and just felt myself getting increasingly sicker by the moment, so I drove right past the venue and came home. Yesterday, I went to work for about an hour, just to order the books, then drove home and home never looked so good.

It is so frustrating to be sick. I always think I’ll read, but my eyes are aching and watering making reading very difficult. I lay on the couch watching a hawk soaring in the blue sky above the greening trees across the pond. I listen to the ducks quacking their undying devotion to one another during this nesting season. I drink more water, eat another orange and sleep a little.

Oh, and the cuckoo part. I feel very disoriented and out-of-my-routine. I’m a bit dizzy. I do have some extra time to pray for some friends who are dealing with far more serious issues than being sidelined for a few days. I do have some extra time to think. But, most of all, I do have some extra time to be loved. When I’m sick, I miss the cool, soft hand of my mother on my forehead. I miss her. But, I have a dear husband who made me some comfort food last night – tomato soup and a grilled cheese sandwich. He loves me even though I’m kind of mess. He reminds me of Someone who loves me like that all of the time. The truth is I’m always kind of a mess.

Published in: on March 20, 2010 at 6:01 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://justsomethinklings.wordpress.com/2010/03/20/one-flu-over-the-cuckoos-nest/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I hope you get better soon! I’m glad Jim is taking such great care of you!


Leave a Reply

