Oh, Sister, Where Art Thou?

Here I am. Tired after 14 straight days of work with at least five more to go. Tired after celebrating 10 years in business at the bookshop with a week of partying. Tired of feeling behind in everything. Just tired. The end is not yet in sight. We are getting busier as school orders are coming in, as are new products for the fall and holidays. We have two new great employees who are in training, so there is hope in sight. I just long to sit and read all the wonderful books that pass through my fingers and enjoy autumn before it turns white. I’m currently in the middle of at least three books, but they will need to wait a bit longer. I’m feeling like I’m out of balance with my personal, work and spiritual life. It seems that at least once a year I come to this place. This place where, even though I didn’t plan it, all the things in my life converge and I try to be in four places at once. Then, I step back, take a look at my lack of exercise, poor eating habits, restless and nightmare-filled sleep and try to rein it all in again. Do you ever find yourself on this kind of merry-go-round, feeling not very merry? How do you keep balance in your life? How do you determine what to say yes to and what to say no to? How do you slow down long enough to jump off? I’d love to hear your thoughts.  As for me right now?  I’m goin’ down to the river to pray.

Published in: on September 20, 2010 at 5:18 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://justsomethinklings.wordpress.com/2010/09/20/oh-sister-where-art-thou/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like you need a visit with a grand child or two!

  2. I’m glad you are going down to the river… I pray it will be a refreshing time for you. I wonder what it will look like for you. I hope you can build that practice into your life each day even in this incredibly busy time.

    I struggle finding time to care for myself in busy seasons, too. Just recently, I made a choice to change how I live one particular aspect of my life (when I work where my headquarters is located). Those changes have really changed how I come home from those visits. It’s only been two times, but those two times have been impacted by deciding to walk in the morning and evening, not work at night, take recreational reading with me to give me something to do during meals I no longer skip. I’m praying this can be a new pattern for me when I’m there. I’ll pray that God gives you a pattern of your own for this fall season.

  3. Thanks, Linda. I did a little better today. A fairly good night’s sleep, a healthy breakfast and dinner. Lunch, not so much. I’m heading to bed now to finish Hinds Feet on High Places. I’m loving this allegory and recognizes some of life’s perils as I read about little Much-Afraid. I’m glad you are also making some headway in new patterns for fall. You are an encouragement to me!


Leave a Reply

