So Many Books, So Little Time

I just returned from the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association tradeshow in Portland. I’ve spent four days listening to authors speak, standing in line to receive a signed copy of their latest book, figuring out what to pick up and what to leave on the publisher’s tables. I’m plumb tuckered, but full of anticipation. I’m most excited about reading Blind Your Ponies by Stanley Gordon West (Algonquin) a “tender story of love and courage and grit”, River House, a memoir by Sarahlee Lawrence (Tin House) which has been endorsed by William Kittredge, Crossing the Heart of Africa by Julian Smith (Harper Perennial) “an odyssey of love and adventure”. Then there is A Householder’s Guide to the Universe by Harriet Fasenfest (Tin House) which she calls a Monthly Guide on How to Get Back to Basics and Change the World! To the Woods, Sinking Roots, Living Lightly and finding True Home by Evelyn Searle Hess (OSU Press), a gracious woman who sat near me at mealtime. West of Here by Jonathan Evison (Algonquin). Jonathan is being called “a major new voice in American fiction”. Based in a fictional town called Port Bonita on Washington’s rugged coast and combining two eras, 1890 and 2006. Then there is Nancy Pearl’s newest, Book Lust To Go (Sasquatch) with the subtitle: Recommended Reading for Travelers, Vagabonds and Dreamers. No one does more to make me keep compiling by reading list than Nancy Pearl. One thing is sure – I’ll never run out of books! There are many new picture books, as well, including one stunning volume that will be on my coffee table this fall, Mr. M The Exploring Dreamer by Solzick Meister and Kallie George (Red Leaf).

My mind is full of great things I learned from other booksellers and in workshops. I always feel that if I can bring two ideas back that I can implement to make Inklings a better place, the trip was successful. And as for the books I listed, I first need to finish These is My Words for TUESDAY NIGHT’S BOOK GROUP! EEK! Then, I can decide what will be next. Most of these books will be out later this fall or early 2011 and then I can do that thing we booksellers do – tell my eager customers about my favorites.

 

Garth Stein, Naseem Rakha, Sarahlee Lawrence, Jamie Ford and Heidi Durrow at an evening reception by Terra Communications

 

 

Jonathan Evison, talking about his book, West of Here

 

David Shannon up close and crazy. Now you know where he gets his illustration ideas! By the way, he once saw a UFO in Yakima. His new book is It's Christmas, David.

Ivan Doig talking about the sequel to Whistling Season, Work Song.

If you could sit down this afternoon and read anything you wanted for several hours straight, which author would it be or what genre book would it be?

Published in: on October 11, 2010 at 12:26 am  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://justsomethinklings.wordpress.com/2010/10/11/so-many-books-so-little-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s one big stack of books!

  2. I’d sit down with children’s fantasy books!

  3. Yeah, Patrik, we first tried to stack them up in one stack, but we had a little crash – one of those that booksellers hate to hear – a cover bending crash!

    Renee – so glad you keep Inklings up to date on fantasy books for children and young adults. You are the expert!!!


Leave a Reply

