Wrapped up in Words

 

Words can surely do this

 

Already this morning, words have wrapped themselves around me.  The nutrition info on the  Trader Joe’s Apricot Mango yogurt and the hilarious caption on my Argyle Sweater daily calendar have held me close in their cozy familiarity.  Words from Facebook friends have wound their way into my soul with news of illness, travel, pictures of children and observations on life, wrapping around my mind and heart, burrowing deep.  My day is and will be full of words.

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith (HarperPerenniel) my next book club read, sits and taunts me with its 491 pages of classic elegance.  I would like to slip into it right now,  free and spontaneous, but I find I must take it one button at a time,  about 24.5 pages or 2.7 chapters  per day in order to wear it proudly to the next meeting.

Blind Your Ponies by Stanley Gordon West (Algonquin) sits alone on the cold seat of my car waiting for the next road trip to finish being read aloud to my husband.  Simple Church by Thom S. Rainer and Eric Geiger (B&H Publishing Group)  recommended by a friend, is another layer I’m wearing  and The Good and Beautiful Community by James Bryan Smith (IVP) already gave me this quote from Augustine to wrap around me:  “In essentials, unity; in doubtful matters, liberty, in all things, charity”.  Mmmmm.  Cozy yet practical.

Then there is that other Word speaking truth to our world, unable to be contained within any leather cover.   He came to communicate – oh, how I love that!

When I get to work, there will be piles of words, stacks of words, a feast of words.  There will be words in books, words on bills, words on the computer screen and words that haven’t yet seen the light of day.   It sometimes feels like an overflowing closet!    As a bookseller, my whole life is warmly wrapped in words.  Winter is coming, but I’ll never be cold.

(Image above was borrowed from Barbara Vey’s blog, Beyond Her Book.  You can read her blog here )

 

 

Published in: on October 19, 2010 at 4:25 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://justsomethinklings.wordpress.com/2010/10/19/wrapped-up-in-words/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

